Second Round of Unified FTA with Mexico

Yesterday the second round of negotiations began to unify the various agreements Central American countries have signed with Mexico.

Tuesday, August 10, 2010

The objective is to unify the different agreements signed by Nicaragua, Costa Rica and the "Northern Triangle" (Guatemala, Honduras and El Salvador) into one single Free Trade Agreement (FTA).

The Mexican Economy Secretary indicated in a communication summarised by that, "the new treaty will expand the free trade zone and enable economic agents to work with one single set of trade rules, thereby facilitating and incentivizing the flow of trade and investment between the six participating countries".

More on this topic

Central America-Mexico FTA Enters Into Force

July 2013

Starting from July 1 the trade agreement with Mexico, a country with which trade reaches $10 billion per year, came into effect.

The agreement "strengthens the recognition of an extended economic zone where Central America can put more products under a single origin and continue complementing each other in the production of goods and services for export to Mexico," said Anabel Gonzalez, Costa Rican Foreign Trade Minister.

Benefits of a Unified FTA Mexico - Central America

January 2012

Central American countries will be able to access the Regional Integration Committee of Supplies, to supply raw materials for the development of Mexican goods, especially textiles.

After three years of negotiations, the Unified Free Trade Agreement between Mexico and Central America was signed on November 22nd 2011.

Central America and Mexico Sign Unified FTA

November 2011

Until now Mexico has had a separate bilateral treaty with Costa Rica, Nicaragua and the Northern Triangle consisting of El Salvador, Guatemala and Honduras.

The Unified Free Trade Agreement (FTA) will be signed today, November 22 in San Salvador, said El Salvador’s finance minister.

Central America to Unify FTAs with Mexico

March 2009

The governments will begin negotiations to create a single regional agreement with Mexico which would be ready by 2010.

Mexico currently has three commercial agreements in the region, one with Costa Rica another with Nicaragua and the other with the Northern Central American Triangle (Guatemala, El Salvador and Honduras.)

 close (x)

Receive more news about Central America Integration

Suscribe FOR FREE to CentralAmericaDATA EXPRESS.
The most important news of Central America, every day.

Type in your e-mail address:

* Al suscribirse, estará aceptando los terminos y condiciones

Looking for sawmills and lumber manufacturers

International company is interested in finding sawmills and suppliers of teak and mahogany in Central America.
The company is interested in purchasing kiln dried wood,...

Stock Indexes

(Feb 28)
Dow Jones
S&P 500


(Mar 20)
Brent Crude Oil
Coffee "C"