El Salvador and the Pacific Alliance

The entry being prepared by the government into the Pacific Alliance will bring more market opportunities but also the requirement for more competition.

Monday, November 18, 2013

Currently the country is an observer of the Pacific Alliance and it is possible that at some point it will become part of the block, but that will not happen anytime soon.

"One requirement for participation is that all countries that are within the alliance must have signed a free trade agreement between them... but we are interested in following the Pacific Alliance closely," said Deputy Economy Minister Mario Roger Hernandez. Of the countries in the initiative, Peru is the only one that does not have an FTA with El Salvador, but Hernandez said he is in the process of negotiation.

For his part, Paul Duran, president of the Exporters Association El Salvador (COEXPORT) stated that the entry of El Salvador to the Alliance would generate multiple benefits such as increased exports. " ... we could take advantage of the proximity of the Pacific Ocean, which would allow us to exchange goods by sea and intensify all trade between the countries," he added.

More on this topic

Guatemala Wants to Join Pacific Alliance

May 2013

The country is in the process of becoming an observer of the business alliance formed by Colombia, Chile, Peru and Mexico

"As is well known the main requirement for joining the Alliance is to have free trade agreements between the countries of this trade agreement, Guatemala already has successful trade agreements with Colombia, Mexico and Chile.

Pacific Alliance Opens Up to More Countries

August 2012

Chile, Colombia, Peru and Mexico have defined guidelines for the participation of other countries in the economic group called the Pacific Alliance.

Bearing in mind the interest in participating in this trade group by countries like the U.S., Japan, Australia, Indonesia, Guatemala and Paraguay, at the ministerial meeting of the Alliance held in Mexico City today, guidelines were approved for the participation of different states and the quality with which they will participate.

The Pacific Alliance

May 2012

Chile, Peru, Colombia and Mexico have signed the Pacific Alliance, a hemispheric trade integration initiative that includes Panama and Costa Rica as observers.

The presidents of Colombia, Peru, Mexico and Chile will meet on 6 June in the Atacama Desert, Chile, to sign a Framework Agreement for the Pacific Alliance, an initiative of trade and economic integration to strengthen their economies to face challenges from the rise of Asia.

Panama and Costa Rica in the Pacific Alliance

March 2012

Costa Rica has been admitted as an observer, while Panama, which already had that status, now wants to become a full member of the group, which currently consists of Peru, Chile, Colombia and Mexico.

The Pacific Alliance is a trading bloc comprising four Latin American countries: Chile, Colombia, Peru and Mexico, which aims to encourage regional integration and increased growth, development and competitiveness of the economies of those countries through a commitment to moving progressively towards the goal of achieving free movement of goods, services, capital and people.

 close (x)

Receive more news about International Commerce

Suscribe FOR FREE to CentralAmericaDATA EXPRESS.
The most important news of Central America, every day.

Type in your e-mail address:

* Al suscribirse, estará aceptando los terminos y condiciones

Looking for Importers and distributors of furniture

Mexican manufacturer of office furniture seeks importers and distributors interested in dealing their products in Central America.
PM Steele is a 100% Mexican company, with more than 67...

Stock Indexes

(Apr 6)
Dow Jones
S&P 500


(Jan 18)
Brent Crude Oil
Coffee "C"