Latin American countries looking to negotiate with Asia as a block

Eleven Latin American countries located on the Pacific are analyzing coming together as a block to increase their trade exchanges with Asian nations.

Friday, October 3, 2008

The encounter, named the Latin American Pacific Arch, brings together ministers of Foreign Affairs, Trade and delegates from Colombia, Costa Rica, Chile, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama and Peru.
According to its basic principles, the purpose of Arch is twofold: one, to increase the commercial integration among its members and, two, to increase trade, investment, and cooperation with Asian Pacific economies.

More on this topic

The Forum of 11 Latin American and Pacific countries is institutionalized

November 2008

Looking toward Asia, the agreement that gives life to the Latin American and Pacific Arch Forum was sealed at the XVIII Ibero-American Summit in San Salvador.

The Arch Forum exists since January 2007, but the last four meetings had been held by ministerial authorities. From now on, the 11 presidents will meet once per year.

Pacific Rim meets in Panama

January 2009

Experts in trade, logistics, and infrastructure are holding a preparatory meeting for the 5th meeting of foreign ministers scheduled for March. reports: "Elmer Miranda, director of Economic Relations at the Panama Ministry of Foreign Affairs, indicated that the topics to discuss include the modernization of Customs.

Guatemala is Observer in Pacific Alliance

January 2013

Guatemala is now the third Central American country to become an observer of the trade group comprised of Mexico, Colombia, Chile and Peru.

From the press release issued by the Government of Guatemala:

President Otto Perez Molina reported on Sunday in Santiago de Chile that Guatemala was unanimously accepted as an observer of the Pacific Alliance, a bloc of countries that promote trade and investment for development.

Panama and Costa Rica in the Pacific Alliance

March 2012

Costa Rica has been admitted as an observer, while Panama, which already had that status, now wants to become a full member of the group, which currently consists of Peru, Chile, Colombia and Mexico.

The Pacific Alliance is a trading bloc comprising four Latin American countries: Chile, Colombia, Peru and Mexico, which aims to encourage regional integration and increased growth, development and competitiveness of the economies of those countries through a commitment to moving progressively towards the goal of achieving free movement of goods, services, capital and people.

 close (x)

Receive more news about International Commerce

Suscribe FOR FREE to CentralAmericaDATA EXPRESS.
The most important news of Central America, every day.

Type in your e-mail address:

* Al suscribirse, estará aceptando los terminos y condiciones

Nexus market & logistics

We help companies, specially those with little or no specialized staff in external trade to increase and improve their internationalization activities. We also deal specifically all logistic aspects.
Operates in Panama, Nicaragua, Guatemala and El Salvador
Phone: (34) 985 131 703

Company Profile

Stock Indexes

(Oct 24)
Dow Jones
S&P 500


(Oct 24)
Brent Crude Oil
Coffee "C"