Central America to Unify FTAs with Mexico

The governments will begin negotiations to create a single regional agreement with Mexico which would be ready by 2010.

Monday, March 30, 2009

Mexico currently has three commercial agreements in the region, one with Costa Rica another with Nicaragua and the other with the Northern Central American Triangle (Guatemala, El Salvador and Honduras.)

The aim of the governments with the "Action Plan for the Convergence of the FTAs,” according to an article in prensalibre.com, is to "create "a single legal instrument to reduce transaction costs and facilitate trade as part of the integration process being driven by Central America."

More on this topic

Optimism in Guatemala Over FTA with Mexico

September 2013

The current $550 million from the annual sales of Guatemalan products and services to Mexico could double with the entry into operation of the unified FTA between that country and the Central Americans.

Guatemalans are hoping that exports to the Aztec nation will double with the entry into force of the agreement which unifies the Mexican FTA's that were held separately with Costa Rica, Nicaragua and the CA-3.

Unified FTA with Mexico Takes Effect

September 2012

The first countries to enforce this Unified Agreement will be El Salvador, Nicaragua and Mexico and the other countries of the region are still in the process of ratification with the Legislature.

A press release from the Ministry of Economy of El Salvador (Minec) reads:

Benefits of a Unified FTA Mexico - Central America

January 2012

Central American countries will be able to access the Regional Integration Committee of Supplies, to supply raw materials for the development of Mexican goods, especially textiles.

After three years of negotiations, the Unified Free Trade Agreement between Mexico and Central America was signed on November 22nd 2011.

Central America and Mexico Sign Unified FTA

November 2011

Until now Mexico has had a separate bilateral treaty with Costa Rica, Nicaragua and the Northern Triangle consisting of El Salvador, Guatemala and Honduras.

The Unified Free Trade Agreement (FTA) will be signed today, November 22 in San Salvador, said El Salvador’s finance minister.

 close (x)

Receive more news about Central America Integration

Suscribe FOR FREE to CentralAmericaDATA EXPRESS.
The most important news of Central America, every day.

Type in your e-mail address:

* Al suscribirse, estará aceptando los terminos y condiciones

Citrus Extract

CitroBio is a citrus extract wash for use throughout the entire food industry.
CitroBio is a citrus wash for sprouts, fruits,...

Stock Indexes

(Aug 30)
Dow Jones
S&P 500


(Aug 30)
Brent Crude Oil
Coffee "C"